I Draw Sticks Because I Can’t Draw

Ages ago, back when I was a younger sprout than I am today (I’m making this sound ancient when I think it was only really 4-5 years ago, oh well, it sounds more mystical this way) I wanted to make a comic. Well, actually I’m not sure that’s entirely how it went down.

I had a friend that I’d met online on a gaming forum, and he was this great artist who would draw and share awesome pictures. I wanted to join in, but I just couldn’t draw. I didn’t want that to stop me though, so, I created a blog where I would post stickmen drawings I did. The blog was called “I Draw Sticks Because I Can’t Draw.”

I started a little comic that was supposed to be the sometimes dull and sometimes completely unbelievable adventures of two ordinary friends. But, because I just don’t stick to anything I start I made five and then got bored. Yeah, you read that right, after five.

It’s a few years later and I’m thinking of carrying on with the stickmen, partly because it will be a fun way to learn how to put across a story through comic book panels. But also because I’m currently working with a very talented artist on a visual novel, and it reminded me of these stick figures when I talked with her about my own attempts at drawing.

I don’t want this blog to become a big mishmash of different topics but well, it’s my blog and I’ll do what I want with it! Can also be translated as: “no one sodding reads it anyway”! So I think I will use Monday as the day I post up stickmen, until I get bored, that is.

I already have a section for Flash Fiction (although there hasn’t been any new prompts on that site so I need to start looking elsewhere for them) but I think I also want to speak about visual novels I’m co-writing, and also novels that I’ve written and plan to write.

I know there’s that saying: “Don’t bite off more than you can chew”, but for so long I’ve really held back on the biting because of what I like to call brain fog and also, well, just because I was pretty damn shy. But when it comes to writing, I want to bite now, and fail, and find success. I need to suck, to be okay, to be good, to be great, to be whoaaaaaa. And I mean, deep down, we all want to be whooooaaa, don’t we?

So here’s to sucking at drawing, accepting that I suck at drawing, and having fun with it anyway.

The first one is on me, Joe.

Leave a Reply

